The Story Behind The Filipino Flag

Filipino Flag

Contact us:

filipino flag

In the Philippines flag, there are four different colors. The blue symbolizes peace, justice, sacrifice, and truth. The red color stands for bravery, courage, and patriotism. Then, the white triangle represents liberty and equality. Finally, the large yellow sun symbolizes freedom, unity, democracy, and sovereignty.

It is said that the eight rays coming from the sun represent the provinces of Nueva Ecija, Manila, Pampanga, Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, and Bataan. There were the first eight provinces that sought independence from Spain.

filipino flag

This flag was adopted in 1898, after the Philippine Revolutionary Army had defeated the Spanish forces to gain their independence. The initial design of the flag was created by Emilio Aguinaldo who was a soldier and politician. In 1897, he was exiled to British Hong Kong, where he designed this country’s flag.

When the first republic of the Philippines was suppressed, the first flag was actually banned from 1907-1920. The new commonwealth of the Philippines readopted the flag in 1936.

filipino flag

Under Japanese rule, the Filipino flag was officially recognized in 1943. On July 4, 1946, the Philippines gained independence from the United States under the 1898 original flag.

Interestingly, the shade of blue on this flag has been changed several times throughout its history. It was once moved to a light hue of blue, but now reflects the same shade of blue of the original design from 1898.

filipino flag
filipino flag
Top – Cuban flag, Bottom – Puerto Rican flag

If you compare the Philippines, Cuba, and Puerto Rico’s flags together, they are all very similar. These three countries were former Spanish colonies in the 19th century. The Cuban flag was also designed by an exile.

More Useful Tips From Cedar Sense

If you liked learning about the history of the Philippines flag, you’ll love the history behind the Poland flag!

If you enjoyed this post about the Philippines flag, subscribe to our FREE weekly newsletter!

Check us out on our other platforms!


What does the 3 stars on the Philippine flag mean?
The three stars stand for the three big islands of the Philippines, namely Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao. As for the colors used, white represents hope for equality, while the blue stripe stands for peace, truth, and justice. Finally, the red stripe symbolizes patriotism and valor.

What does the 8 rays of the Philippine flag stand for?
In the center of the white equilateral triangle is the golden sun, with 8 rays and 3 five-pointed stars in each corner. The 8 rays represented the first 8 provinces that courageously defied and revolted against the Spaniards.

What do the colors of the flag symbolize?
The stripes represent the original 13 Colonies and the stars represent the 50 states of the Union. The colors of the flag are symbolic as well; red symbolizes hardiness and valor, white symbolizes purity and innocence, and blue represents vigilance, perseverance and justice.


More Posts

Send Us A Message

Start typing to see products you are looking for.
0 Wishlist
0 items Cart
My account
Days :
Hours :
Minutes :

— HURRY UP! What are you waiting for? —

Today 10% OFF



Custom Lake Cribbage Boards!

Make a cribbage board out of any lake you want too with our custom lake cribbage boards.